top of page
  • Writer's pictureKacey Finch

It is good that you are here.

Earlier this summer, a deacon at church gave a sermon about suicide. I felt compelled to journal about it afterward but never intended to actually share. However, in honor of World Suicide Prevention Day, I want to share the Word. Maybe someone out there really needs to hear it.

 

"This morning’s sermon at church left tears on my cheeks, sorrow in my heart and the longing for people to put their faith in God.


It’s not easy. Not at all. Putting your faith in something you can’t always hear, see or touch. But, boy, does it help.


This morning’s sermon discussed the “elephant” in the media this week following the suicides of Kate Spade and Anthony Bourdain. Depression, suicide and mental health.

The sermon, given by a deacon who is a physician, touched on the hardships of depression, depression diagnosis statistics in those who have committed/attempted suicide and how to seek help.


But what really got me, what really had me fighting back all the emotions, was one line: “It is good that you are here.”


It is good that you are here. Something I wish some people I’ve known, both personally and impersonally, could have heard before they couldn’t hear it ever again.


It is good that you are here. Something that God wants you to know.


Putting your faith in God isn’t easy. Not in the slightest. But He put you here. He wants you here. Let Him help you stay. I truly believe putting a little bit of strong faith and belief in God can make this life a little bit easier to get through.


Even if you aren’t religious, please know there is someone who believes it is good that you are here. I think it is good that you are here.


It is good that you are here."

44 views
bottom of page