top of page
  • Writer's pictureKacey Finch

The Best of Charleston


Spending two months in Charleston allowed me to discover the best this charming city has to offer. From southern restaurants to panoramic rooftop bars, the Holy City has something for everyone who arrives on its peninsula.


Restaurants


Kaminsky's

Kaminsky's is HANDS DOWN my favorite place in all of Charleston. It's a DESSERT BAR... aka my heaven on earth. I spent many of my Saturday nights here, indulging in a huge slice of cake and a warm coffee with Bailey's.


If you're looking for a place to end your night on a delicious note, this is the place for you. Any night that ends (or starts) at Kaminsky's is sure to be a good one. Alcoholic milkshakes, dessert martinis and a cookie sundae sent from God himself are sure to make any trip to Charleston a damn good one.


Breakfast at Poogan's Porch

Poogan's Porch

Get ready to leave full and happy from this classic southern house-converted-to-a-restaurant. Poogan's offers breakfast (the stuffed French toast is unreal), lunch and dinner and a dining experience that will put a smile on your face. The restaurant lives in a house from the 1800s that was home to two sisters – one of whom never left. If you love a good ghost story and aren't too after to encounter the supernatural, Poogan's might be your favorite stop in Charleston.


Leon's Fine Poultry & Oysters

Man, oh man. Leon's has ruined any other shrimp po boy I will ever encounter, because theirs is truly the best I will ever have.


Leon's is one of Charleston's most well-known restaurants, and for good reason. The fish is fresh, the flavors are amazing (I mean, potato chips on a po boy!!!) and the restaurant itself is somewhere you just want to be.


Henry's On The Market

On the outside, I thought Henry's was going to be a dingey hole-in-the-wall, but I was presently surprised when I walked in. The dining room is a little dark and loud, but the food was amazing and the two-tier rooftop bar had a fun atmosphere over looking Market Street.


Hooked

I only went here for appetizers, but I couldn't leave it out... BEST CALAMARI EVER.


Brown Dog Deli

Need a quick, cheap bite? Look no further. Located on Broad Street, Brown Dog Deli offers a variety of delicious sandwiches. You really can't go wrong with any choice. This is the perfect casual hang.



Bars

The Rooftop at The Vendue

The Rooftop Bar at The Vendue

This was easily my most visited bar. As in, I literally went once a week. I LOVED the atmosphere of this rooftop (and I literally went to every rooftop in the city). The view of downtown and the bay is amazing and it is the perfect place to have a sunset dinner. Highly recommend the fish tacos and cranberry Moscow mule.



Deep Water Vineyard & Firefly Distillery

Currently located on the same property, the vineyard and distillery made for such a fun afternoon. My boyfriend, Andrew, and I chugged the most divine frozen peach bellinis, strolled through the vineyard with a cow, swung on a tree swing and tasted unique shots of vodka and moonshine. While this is pretty far (about 30 minutes) from downtown, it was such a nice break from the hustle and bustle.


Elevé

Looking for a picturesque rooftop? Here it is! This contemporary bar has a beautiful lounge, fun chairs and pricey drinks. It's a great spot to sit with friends, soak up the hot Charleston summer and take fun pictures. However, don't expect much of a view.

Pavilion Rooftop

Pavilion Rooftop

Pavilion is by far the most expensive rooftop I went to, but it also has one of the best views. Panoramic views of the Ravenel Bridge and all the downtown steeples. The drinks are delicious, but get ready to drop some money.


Pour Taproom

If you're like me and want to try all the cool beers a brewery has to offer, this is your place. When you walk in, you're given a QR code. When you want to try a beer, you scan your QR code, pour how much you want and pay by the ounce. Such a fun place to go with friends, try new beers (and some wines) and maybe play some board games!


The Cocktail Club

While this wasn't my favorite bar and has an older crowd, The Cocktail Club is unlike any bar I've ever been to. It's kind of a speakeasy – there's no secret code to get in but there's also no sign for it on the street (search for the entrance!). Inside, it looks like an unfinished house, wooden planks with no walls marking different rooms. The lights are dim and the bar resembles an in-home library. Think Edgar Allen Poe vibes. Pretty cool.



Things To Do


Beaches

I was so happy to live in a beach town this summer (even though I didn't go that often). The beaches in Charleston are beautiful, but packed during the summer. Folly Beach and Sullivan's Island are great beaches, but make sure to get there super early to find parking.


Waterfront Park

Typical tourist stuff, but this park really is pretty. Take all the pictures and stroll the tree-lined walkway. I loved just plopping down on a bench and relaxing.


Rainbow Row

From Waterfront Park, head one block up to East Bay Street to see the famous Rainbow Row. It's a literally underwhelming, but do it for the Instagram.


The Battery

The Battery

The Battery was one of my favorite strolls/runs. Right on the water, the Battery has magnificent mansions that will literally make your jaw drop. In fact, one of the houses is my computer wallpaper.


Walk Pretty Streets

I spent a lot of time and walked a lot of miles down the beautiful streets of Charleston. The southern homes never failed to take my breath away and give me the goosebumps. If I had a dollar for every house I took a picture of, I would be able to buy one of them. Some streets I loved the most were Tradd Street, King Street (the residential portion closer to the Battery) and Queen Street.


Colonial Lake

I spent many afternoons running around this lake. I felt so at peace here. If you find yourself close by, take a stroll around it for me.


Things I didn't do but wish I did:

• Fort Sumter

• Patriots Point

• Sunset sail

 

My summer in Charleston exceeded every expectation I had. Living in this city changed me in ways I find hard to convey in words. As cliché as it sounds, part of my heart will always belong to this city.


I hope this list of my Charleston favorites helps you to find the magic in the Holy City.



60 views
bottom of page